Portugal and Malta have implemented restrictions on UK visitors who are not fully vaccinated.

Travelers will be quarantined for 14 days unless they can prove they took their second vaccine dosage a fortnight before arriving, according to the Portuguese government.

From Wednesday, only persons who have been twice vaccinated will be allowed into Malta.

Travelers from the United Kingdom must show proof of vaccination or give a negative PCR test upon arrival in Spain.

What are the new holiday quarantine rules in Portugal?

Before scheduling a green list vacation, there are a few things to keep in mind.

After the government discovered cases of “variant virus strains” had been “persistently” detected from the UK in the past few days, Hong Kong has decided to restrict all passenger flights from the UK starting July 1.

The precautions have been implemented for UK visitors, particularly those who have not been fully vaccinated, due to concerns that they could spread the Delta strain of coronavirus, which was originally discovered in India.

In June 2021, passengers wheel their luggage carts through Terminal 5 at Heathrow Airport in London.
In June 2021, passengers wheel their luggage carts through Terminal 5 at Heathrow Airport in London.

The Portuguese government has added the United Kingdom to the list of nations where visitors must quarantine “at home or at a location determined by the health authorities.” At 12 a.m., the new rules went into effect.

Only those traveling to mainland Portugal, not Madeira, are subject to the new quarantine requirements.

On Monday, 19 flights were scheduled to depart from UK airports for Portugal’s mainland airports of Lisbon airport, Faro, and Porto airport.

Brazil, South Africa, India, and Nepal were already on Portugal’s quarantine list, but the exemption for those who have been vaccinated against Covid-19 in order to avoid isolation only applies to the United Kingdom.

How do you show that you’ve been vaccinated?

An NHS Covid Pass can be used to show vaccination status, according to the UK government.

The pass is accessible in both digital and print formats, and users can use it two weeks after receiving their second dosage of the vaccination.

If you meet the following criteria, you may be eligible for a pass:

  • You’ve had a full course of any Covid-19-approved vaccination (two doses).
  • You received your vaccinations in England.
  • 2px presentational grey line if you’re 16 or older

The tighter limits across Europe came after Germany lobbied the EU to impose travel restrictions on British citizens.

Because the Delta strain of the coronavirus is so common, German Chancellor Angela Merkel wants to identify the UK as a “nation of concern,” according to the Times.

Senior European and national officials on the EU’s integrated political crisis response group will discuss the measures.

Presentational grey line of 2px
The current itinerary

The following destinations have been added to the green list as of 04:00 BST on June 30th:

  • The Balearic Islands (Ibiza, Menorca, Majorca, and Formentera), Malta, and Madeira are all located in Europe.
  • Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Dominica, Grenada, Montserrat, and Turks & Caicos Islands are all in the Caribbean.
  • Bermuda, British Antarctic Territory, British Indian Ocean Territory, and Pitcairn are some of the other British overseas territories.
    On June 30, the Dominican Republic, Eritrea, Haiti, Mongolia, Tunisia, and Uganda will be added to the government’s blacklist.

back to news